Blog, Life, lifestyle, Love, Personal, Relationships, The Daily Post, Uncategorized

Commitment and how it changed my life

Commit

I saw the daily prompt when I woke up and took some time to think about what I wanted to express. I refused to skip writing because I did make a commitment to myself to post everyday for one full week.

Now commitment can be a word or thought that makes people nervous or even turn away. I am not going to lie, I used to be one of those people. Everyone goes through bad break ups or has been hurt by someone at some point in their life. It can make the idea of future relationships temporarily disappear from the mind.

One night I came home to my four best friends mixing music and dancing with a drink in their hand. I quickly noticed a handsome face I never saw before. I was immediately drawn to him and had even asked my housemates who he was. (I learned later on that he had the same reaction) That was over a year ago and now I am laying in bed writing this blog post while he lays beside me in our apartment that we share together.

In all honesty I struggled to commit in the beginning, because I was scared of someone getting hurt. I had difficulty trusting people and letting my walls down but doing so was the best decision I made. I was never someone who wanted to get married or settle down and people used to always tell me “you say that now, but wait until you are older and meet the right guy.” I would just roll my eyes and shrug it off when really I wanted to tell them to stuff it. Was I ever wrong. My partner and I have talked about getting married and how many kids we want to have in our future. Although we aren’t ready for kids now, we adopted a cat from a shelter in Toronto, ON and have been saving for a puppy.

I never thought I could fall so in love and be so happy with someone that I would want all of these things in my life. I wish we had met sooner but I truly believe everything happens for a reason. Maybe we weren’t ready for each other five years ago, maybe we had to go through the good and bad moments in life to make us who we are today.

My advice to whomever cares to read it – sometimes you have to take risks, even if it scares you. You never want to look back and wonder what could have happened. Even if things don’t go as expected, take it as a learning experience and keep pushing through life because there is always a light at the end of a dark tunnel, even if it’s hard to see sometimes.

holdinghands

4 thoughts on “Commitment and how it changed my life”

Leave a Reply

